A Sinful Deception (Breconridge Brothers #2) by Isabella Bradford

I keep saying that I’m not reading any more new-to-me romance writers, and then I keep doing it anyway. This one pulled me in with its tagline  of “For fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries.” Since those are three writers on my auto-buy-as-bound-books shelf, I had to check this out. I’m happy I did.

A Sinful Deception Front Cover (Random House Publishing)

A Sinful Deception Front Cover (Ballantine/Random House Publishing)

THE PLOT: Serena Carew would seem to be a perfect catch in Georgian London. She’s a beautiful, exotic heiress. She is also keeping a huge secret from everyone and believes that this secret will prevent her from marrying. She immediately captivates Lord Geoffrey Fitzroy, but he thinks he only wants an affair with her. Serena naively believes that she can have an affair since she doesn’t plan to marry…but her family isn’t going to allow her to be disgraced.

Geoffrey and Serena find that they have a true love match, but the devastating events of Serena’s past haunts her. One person will benefit most from revealing her secret, and he has absolutely no fondness for Serena.

MY TWO CENTS: I’m so glad that Serena’s secret was out of the ordinary. I won’t say what it is, but thankfully it’s not that she had been ruined or borne a secret child. I do wish the evil uncle had been introduced a little earlier in the book.He seemed almost added in to first get Serena to accept the protection of marriage, and then to cause trouble in the marriage. At first, Serena is surrounded by loving family, and then, suddenly, there’s the uncle.

As far as the “Fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries” tagline…I would say that’s a pretty good assessment, with one exception. Those three usually provide a fair amount of humor in their novels (especially Julia Quinn), and there is really no humor in this book. Perhaps there was in the first book, A Wicked Pursuit…I haven’t read it yet, but I could see Gus inspiring a few humorous situations.

I also have to admit, I love Georgian novels. This one is set in 1771. There’s something slightly more decadent about this period than the very polite Regency.

BOTTOM LINE: An unusual heroine; a couple in love throughout the book; a heartbreaking past; a loyal family; a few steamy love scenes. What’s not to love?

TEACUP RATING: Four-and-a-half out of five teacups. I’ll be checking out the other Breconridge Brothers novels.

ON SALE DATE: The book will be on sale in paperback and eformats on February 24, 2015.

Note: Review is based on an ARC provided by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Advertisements

One Response to “A Sinful Deception (Breconridge Brothers #2) by Isabella Bradford”

  1. A Reckless Desire (Breconridge Brothers #3) by Isabella Bradford | Tessa's Books and Tea Room Says:

    […] who is longing for some grandsons. I read the second book, A Sinful Deception, first (reviewed here), and liked it so well that I checked out the first book, A Wicked Pursuit. I was fairly eager to […]


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: