Star Wars Legacy II: Prisoner of the Floating World

9781616552084_p0_v2_s600

Prisoner of the Floating World Volume I Cover (Dark Horse Comics)

I don’t read many comics or graphic novels (manga excepted), but I did read most of the first “Star Wars Legacy” series. I was excited to hear that Dark Horse was doing “Star Wars: Legacy II” featuring a female protagonist. I believe this bind-up is volumes 1 through 3 of a planned 18-volume arc; as many have probably heard by now, by 2015 Star Wars comics will be moving from Dark Horse back to Marvel.

THE PLOT: I think this picks up not long after Legacy I ended, with some of the same characters. For example, Marisiah Fel is empress in the triumvirate government. However, most of the action takes place in a junkyard with Ania Solo and her sidekick, the Mon Calamari Sauk. They find a lightsaber, which is actually symptom of a bigger problem with imperial knights, a communications array, and (surprise!) Sith.

MY TWO CENTS: My problem with Legacy I is that I never really liked Cade Skywalker. His character just didn’t appeal to me, and I felt like he was drawn as a cruel distortion of Luke (which, I suppose, was partially the point). In any case, I do feel more sympathetic to Ania. She seems like a tough, spunky girl who is worthy to be a descendent of Han Solo and Princess Leia. The question is: where does she fit in the family tree? She’s supposed to be a great-great-granddaughter, which means either a granddaughter of Allana or of Jaina’s child(ren). Ania does, apparently, realize that she’s part of the Fel family, but doesn’t associate with them. Her question of “Do I look like royalty?” is met with the response, “Han Solo wasn’t royalty. He was a smuggler.” But it seems that the ruling Fels aren’t aware of Ania’s existence, based on Sia’s exclamation at the end: “Who the HELL is Ania Solo???” Indeed.

THE BOTTOM LINE: The art is interesting and colorful, Ania is engaging, and I’m willing to go along for a while to find out more about future Solos…especially outcast ones.

TEACUP RATING: I’m giving this about three-and-a-half to three-and-three-quarters cups. It seems to be a promising beginning.

Note: Review is based on an ARC provided by the publisher via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. However, I was interested enough that I bought a copy for my Kindle Fire. Did you know that in Kindle Fire you can isolate and zoom individual comic panes? It’s kind of awesome!

Leave a Reply

