Seeds Volume 3 by M.M. Kin

seeds 3

Seeds Volume Three (Cover Image: Moranyelie/Osario Morales)

I had previously reviewed Volumes 1 and 2 in this trilogy here, and was eager to find out of the conclusion was satisfying. Spoiler: It was.

THE PLOT: When we left off in Book 2, Hades had done something…iffy…that you just KNEW was not going to go down well. Sure enough, this volume picks up with Persephone’s anger, plus the continued wrath of her mother, Demeter, against Zeus’s human acolytes. Without giving too much away, Demeter finally does reunite with her daughter…and the first thing she does proves she hasn’t learned a damn thing from her daughter’s absence. Thankfully, Persephone has truly grown up during her captivity and is no longer the easily bullied little girl.

Does Persephone forgive Hades? Do they get a happily ever after? Will Demeter ever forgive Zeus OR Hades? You’ll have to read the book to find out. Again, I don’t want to give away the ending. However, I found the ending reminiscent of the “Battlestar Galactica” reboot’s finale, which I very much enjoyed.

MY TWO CENTS: The author took the Hades/Persephone myth and truly fleshed it out into a relatable story. I found it a very richly drawn portrait of an ancient era. I also had an emotional connection with the characters. For example, when Demeter gets Persephone back and tries to mold her back to a child, I was FURIOUS. I felt bad for Seph and triumphant when she fought back. That’s the kind of involvement I want with my books.

BOTTOM LINE: I have enjoyed M.M. Kin’s “Seeds” saga more than the works of any other indie author I’ve sampled. If you are a fan of mythology, I suggest you give this series a try. Do keep in mind that there are some VERY steamy scenes throughout, but overall, this story encompasses more than just a romance between two characters.

TEACUP RATING: Five overflowing cups of dark, seductively scented tea.

Leave a Reply

